Winning Isn’t Everything

Everyone enjoys winning, I mean who doesn’t love the feeling when the judge starts their walk towards you and your animal, and giving you the champion slap.  There’s no other feeling like it, all of the hard work, late nights, and early mornings finally pay off.  But winning is not everything.

 

Winning doesn’t compare to the people I have met along the way, or all of the new friends that I have made in the beef barn.  Show day is only one morning long, but the rest of fair is spent sitting in our lawn chairs in the beef barn talking, laughing, and having a good time.  I have made friends all throughout the county through showing, and we always pick up where we left off, even if we have not seen each other in years.  The friendships I have made hold greater value than winning ever will.

Winning doesn’t compare to the bonds I have created with my heifers.  To people who don’t show, this sounds crazy, having a bond with a cow.  However to me, I have some of the most special bonds with these animals.  Some heifers are bought, and some I have raised from a baby, but the amount of time and work put in creates something truly special.  Each heifer has their own personality, but they are all basically big puppy dogs.  Winning could never compare to the bonds I have made with each heifer I have raised.

Winning will never compare to the family aspect of showing livestock.  Showing has brought my family together in ways that I can never explain.  My dad has put so much time and effort into helping me have the best animals I can possibly have and I can never thank him enough for that.  My mom has always been my biggest fan in the show ring and also the best photographer.  It has brought me closer to two of our family friends also, who have taught me everything I know about showing.  They have helped shape me into the showman that I am today.  I am forever grateful to my family and I would never be the showman I am today without them helping me along the way.

So no, winning is amazing, but winning isn’t everything.

 

Leave a Reply

